Triumphant Thomas! – Formula Grasstrack 2022 Round 8 Report

Sponsored by H & N Supplies Ltd

Graham Thomas Stormed to a 7 ride maximum at round 8 of the H & N Supplies Ltd. 2022 FGA championship.

Held at Shawbury for the 1st time since 2019, the track was on the slightly larger side for formula Grasstrack, with a mini jump over the finish line, the racing still proved to be close throughout most classes.

Thomas opened up his afternoon with a race win, joining fellow Minsterley club member and FGA champion Wayne Broadhurst who had also won his 1st race. Kevin Gwillam who was looking to close the gap to Broadhurst in the championship, had to settle for 2nd behind David Binns who looked like he would be one to watch as the day progressed. Thomas would get the better of Binns in the 2nd round of heats whilst Broadhurst and Gwillam would also take race wins.

In the last races before the break, Gwillam and Binns would add to their tallies with wins with Thomas and Broadhurst meeting, Broadhurst would lead a hard charging Thomas hot on his rear wheel for two laps before his machine coughed and spluttered to a stop gifting Thomas the win, Broadhurst would push home for 6th place.

After the break, Thomas would beat Gwillam whilst Broadhurst had fixed any machine issues to beat Binns. Broadhurst would then get the better of his championship rival Gwillam with another race win as Binns and Thomas also added 8 points to their totals. In the final heats, Binns would take another race win with the other three meeting in the final senior heat of the day. Unfortunately for Broadhurst he had to borrow his spare machine and subsequently had to settle for third place behind Thomas and Gwillam respectively.

Overall, Thomas would take the win from Binns, then Gwillam with Broadhurst tied for 4th with 2021 Junior champion Gino Casale who had put in a fine performance. Casale and Broadhurst would have to decide positions in the final. Whitchurch’s Sam Hall had qualified in 6th with a consistent performance with a hat-trick of 2nds in the heats. Binns opted out of the final promoting Kacper Osczcepalski to the A final after finishing 7th overall. They would be racing for the Geoff Adams trophy, in honour of former Minsterley club member and fsther to Former FGA champ Martin Adams. It was a superb start for Thomas, the former 250cc British champion was in his own class as he raced away from the other 4 finalists as Gwillam was left at the start with a stalled machine. Hall, Broadhurst and Casale with Osczcepalski in chase, went wheel to wheel for 4 laps with nothing between them, but it was young guns Hall and Casale respectively who headed home Broadhurst who was on his spare machine again. A day to forget for the 2021 senior champion who is now joint on points with Gwillam in the title chase. It must be said that Sam Hall, Gino Casale and Kacper Osczcepalski all showed some top form throughout the day and will undoubtedly be ones to watch should the take to the track for the final rounds.

There were thrills and spills in the Junior category. Race one saw Jack Baker lead for 2 laps before championship leader Joe crewe clip his back wheel in a racing accident. All riders were invited for the re-run and it was younger brother Jack Crewe who would take victory ahead of Jacke Baker with Bristol’s Max Derrick in 3rd. Joe crewe clearly suffering from his spill settled for 4th and would sit out his next ride as Derrick went on to win.

Derrick would go on to win all his races to take 1st place whilst Jack Crewe would settle for 5 2nds and 2nd overall with Jack Baker taking 3rd and newcomer Issac Collins-Bullock 4th. Joe Crewe would only take to the track twice more to finish 5th overall still taking valuable championship points. In the final, for the John Broadhurst shield. Jack Crewe and Max Derrick put on a brilliant dual, with Crewe running slightly wide on the 2nd laps letting Derrick through the gap to take a much-deserved win.

Logan Price rode to a 6-ride maximum getting the better of Archie Whitelam. Whilst Charlie Dowd, Jess Cox and Toby Cossar also produced maximums to win the Autos, cadets and Ebike classes respectively.

Round 9 takes place on the 24th of September at Alveley DY12 1SU and will also be the Martin Parry Rosebowl Memorial meeting.


Ebikes – 1st T. Cossar 48, 2nd L. Bence 40, 3rd E. Derrick 38

Autos – 1st C. Dowd 48, 2nd AJ Bence 42

Cadets – 1st J. Cox 40

Cubs – 1st L. Price 48, 2nd A. Whitelam 35

Juniors – 1st M. Derrick 46, 2nd Jack Crewe 43, 3rd J. Baker 35, 4th I. Collins- Bullock 19, 5th Joe Crewe 16

Seniors (Top 10) – 1st G. Thomas 48, 2nd D.Binns 46, 3rd K.Gwillam44, 4th G. Casale 41, 5th W. Broadhurst 41, 6th S. Hall 37, 7th K. Osczcepalski 37, 8th Andrew Rowson 36, 9th N. Bull 32, 10th S. Mace 32.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest