September Sizzler! – Formula Grasstrack 2023 Round 8 Report

The Formula Grasstrack Association ran it’s 8th round of the H and N Supplies Ltd Championship on Saturday in the scorching Shropshire Sunshine at Lea Cross near Shrewsbury.

Lilly Bence continued her winning ways in the E-bike class, comfortably beating her opponents in every race. Weston-super-Mare’s Dalton Wright held off Kobi Gutteridge for 2nd place although Gutteridge would get the better of Wright in the final.

In the Auto cadets, Dakota Wright put on a masterclass in a depleted 3 rider line up. Kaylem Bourne would secure 2ndplace ahead of Lucas Astley who suffered to falls in the heats but battled away to 3rd place.

Chloe Davis would get the better of AJ Bence in all their races to take the victory in the cadet category.

Logan Price showed why he is the current Cub champion be taking a full maximum in the class ahead of the rapidly improving Jessica Cox.

Max Derrick would take a maximum score to win the junior class. Pushed hard by current champion Joe Crewe. Liam Cox and Jack Crewe had to share third place due to the final not being re-run after Joe Crewe clipped the back of Derrick exiting turn 4 on the 2nd lap. The clerk of the course felt it was in the interest of safety that the final was not re-run. Isaac Collins-Bullock took a solid 5th place despite a fall in his 5th outing and Charlotte Arthur came 6th after completing 3 rides.

It was a case of ‘as you were’ in the Seniors with champion Wayne Broadhurst taking a 7 ride maximum and taking home the Geoff Adams trophy. Graham Thomas would only drop 1 point to Broadhurst in the heats to take 2nd with the ever smooth Kevin Gwillam dropping 2 points to Thomas and Broadhurst. The Gwillam and Thomas battle in leg 5 was the race of the afternoon with both riders swapping positions multiple times only for Graham to get the better of Kevin on the 3 lap.

Max Broadhurst would take 4th overall and just missing out by a tyres width in the final the Graham Thomas for 3rd. Phil Thomas would finish 5th after tying on points with max Broadhurst but losing out in the final. Whitchurch youngster Sam Hall consistently rode to a 6th overall whilst 250cc expert Adam Hawker continued his 125cc improvement to finish 7th.

Rider of the day must go to veteran Russell Hall whose 5 3rd places was enough to take 9th place on the day.

Round 9 takes place of 30th September at Pontesbury, shropshire. More information at or our Facebook page.


Ebikes 1st L. Bence 48, 2nd D. Wright 41, 3rd K. Gutteridge 37.

Autos 1st D. Wright 48, 2nd K. Bourne 41, 3rd L. Astley 25.

Cadets 1st C. Davis 48, 2nd AJ Bence 42

Cubs 1st L. Price 48, 2nd J. Cox 35

Juniors 1st M. Derrick 48, 2nd Joe Crewe 42, 3rd Jack Crewe & Liam Cox 33, 5th I. Collins-Bullock 16, 6th C. Arthur 6.

Seniors (top 10)

1st W. Broadhurst 48, 2nd G. Thomas 47, 3rd K. Gwillam 46, 4th M. Broadhurst 45, 5th P. Thomas 45, 6th S. Hall 44, 7thA Hawker 43, 8th Andrew Rowson 38, 9th R. Hall 35, 10th A. Binns 34

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest