Race Reviews – 2016

The 2016 Formula Grasstrack season kicked off with round two incorporating The Tom Thomas Memorial finals. It was also the first grasstrack organised by Minsterley Motor Club in 13 years & with a good entry of 38 riders across all classes plus a total of 49 races there was plenty of action on track for the Shropshire spectators.

In the Auto Cadets it was Charlotte Arthur who took victory from Lilly Cox. Lilly unfortunately having to withdraw from the meeting due to a Seized engine after her second race.

In the Cub class it was Aidan Arthur who took maximum points from Billy Budd to continue the Arthur family’s run of wins. Billy, the younger brother of Junior rider Jack was making his first appearance on the 125cc Honda went on to show great skill to take 2nd Place.

In the Junior class, it was Somerset Speedway mascot Eli Meadows that went on to take maximum points. Eli, who is the reigning Cub Champion, has moved into the Junior category for 2016 and went on to take victory without a single defeat. 2nd place went to Brandon Gutteridge from Coventry. Brandon, the 2015 Junior Champion only dropped 3 points all day. 3rd place went to the only Female Junior rider Katie Gordon, Katie showed incredible gating skills and rode smoothly to 3rd place. 4th place went to Jack Budd, who was consistent throughout the day. 5th place went to the unfortunate Samuel Hall, who after winning his opening ride, suffered a mechanical failure in his 2nd race which kept him down the finishing positions. 6th place went to Nathan Alder. Nathan improved as the day went on and scored 27 points. Another unlucky rider was 7th place Thierry Atkinson. Thierry had bike gremlins and missed his 5th ride which kept him down in 7th.

Well done to all the youth riders for putting on a great show with some superb racing.

In the Senior class, It was Reigning champion Graham Thomas who went on to win the meeting. Graham, the former 250cc British champion didn’t have it all his own way after being beaten in his 5th ride by former champion Elvis Jones. Thomas would storm to victory in His Dad’s Memorial final, winning it for a 3rd year on the trot. 2nd place went to former Stoke speedway star Wayne Broadhurst, who was only beaten by fellow Minsterley Club member Graham Thomas. In 3rd Spot was Tividale youngster Ryan Ashcroft. Ryan, who has improved massively since competing regularly on the 350cc class was only beaten by Broadhurst in his opening ride. Elvis Jones went on to finish 4th, one point behind the top three. In 5th place was the younger of the Thomas brothers Phil. Phil edged out Liam Ashcroft in the final to take the position. Liam Has also benefitted like older brother Ryan from Competing in the 350 class. Taking the last place in the A final would be Minsterley clubman Ross Wharton. As the 7 riders came to the tapes for the Tom Thomas Final, it could have been any of the 7. But it would be Graham Thomas who stormed away from the field leaving other 6 to battle it out for the minor places.

A special mention must go to Martin Adams. After 26 years out of the saddle and on a bike he purchased less than 24 hours before the meeting went on to claim 11th place!

Final Positions:

Autos – 1st C Arthur 2nd L Cox

Cubs – 1st A Arthur 2nd B Budd

Juniors – 1st E Meadows 2nd B Gutteridge 3rd K Gordon

Seniors – 1st G Thomas 2nd W Broadhurst 3rd R Ashcroft 4th E Jones 5th P Thomas 6th L Ashcroft.

Minsterley Motor Club Held Round 7 of the 2016 Formula Grasstrack Championship, the clubs 2nd meeting of 2016.

Despite the heavy rain showers throughout the morning and early afternoon, the racing went ahead with the crowd of approximately 200 taking advantage of the free admission. Track conditions improved like the weather & it was Local man and former Telford Icespeedway champion Wayne Broadhurst who showed his class with a Full Maximum. Broadhurst took a clean sweep, winning the meeting, then the Minsterley club title & the Geoff Adams Memorial final.

Championship leader and currant senior title holder Graham Thomas had a day of mixed fortunes. Thomas, the former 250cc British Champion had bike problems on his own machine & had to switch to younger brother Phil’s second bike. Unfazed by the switch, he went on to have 5 wins and a second, only beaten by Broadhurst, to take 2nd place on the day. Younger Brother Phil taking bronze medal with 1 point less.

The top six was completed with Ryan & Liam Ashcroft being split by Ex Belle Vue speedway man Elvis Jones. The three men tied on points after their 6 rides, were split after a hard battled final.

In the Junior Category, Evesham’s Eli Meadows won all of his races to take 1st place. After a small crash in tricky conditions in practise, Meadows didn’t let this affect him to take a maximum point haul, winning the John Broadhurst Memorial final & also getting awarded the Curran-Bennett trophy by commentator & Club President, Brian Curran. 2nd place went to Samuel Hall from Whitchurch, Staying consistent all day. The last step on the podium went to Jack Budd, Riding smooth all day to take advantage of some tricky conditions early on.

The Cub winner was the younger of the Budd Brothers, Billy. Billy took 6 wins & also ruffled a few feathers in the Junior Category after the two classes were combined.

Nathan Alder has to be the most improved of the Youngsters. The Hereford Teenager took fourth place and went on to win the Minsterley Motor Club Junior Title Race.

The Youngest Category, the Auto Cadets, it was an All Brother affair with Joseph & Jack Crewe taking equal 1st place. Both the brothers are improving with each meeting after only beginning this May.

Hard Luck stories of the day have to go to John Jones & Zoe Thomas. Jones, a former senior champion suffered a fall in his first outing and had to withdraw due to aggravating a knee Injury. Zoe Thomas, the newcomer to the junior class had to borrow her dads machine for much of the day due to machine problems of her own and struggled to get to grips with the different bike.

The next meeting is 3rd September rub by the Whitchurch club near Malpas. See www.formulagrasstrack.com



1st W. Broadhurst 36, 2nd G. Thomas 35, 3rd P. Thomas 34, 4th R. Ashcroft 33, 5th E. Jones 33, 6th L. Ashcroft.


1st E. Meadows 36, 2nd S. Hall 33, 3rd J. Budd 29, 4th N. Alder & T. Atkinson 27, 6th K. Gordon 25


1st B. Budd 36

Autos =1st Jack & Joseph Crewe 18.